Queer & A - 2SLGBTQIA+ and religious homophobia
Queer & A
LGBTQIA+ Healing from the Church-Hurt | Charley Bouchard
1
0:00
-1:02:08

LGBTQIA+ Healing from the Church-Hurt | Charley Bouchard

Queer Forgiveness for the Church?
1

In this episode I speak with Charley Bouchard. Charley is an athlete, versatile artist, and passionate about volunteering for youth work in the community.  Charley considers themself to be a mystic Christian, ready and open to questioning and discussing big ideas that affect our culture and shape our lives. 

As we talk about their story with queerness and Christianity, Charley shares openly and honestly about the pain they experienced in their mid 20s when they attended an evangelical Christian church. I'll let Charley share their story of pain and rejection because of their queerness, but allow me to set up some broader context. Leading up to this episode, I found myself thinking a lot about the value of anger. In the Christian circles I grew up in, anger is often pushed aside--we're encouraged to forgive rather than to be angry when wrong is done. And, as an adult, I often struggle with feeling my own anger. But I'm learning that anger is an expression of my authenticity, and authenticity, at least for me, is a big component of my own queer identity. I am true to who I am--that includes all parts of me. That includes the angry parts. Anger is different than hatred--being angry with a person or a system does not mean that we wish them ill-will. In Charley's story, you'll hear them speak candidly about the pain they experienced at the hands of Christian leaders in our church, and you'll hear them get on the verge of angry. I hear this authentic anger as a necessary part of the story of moving out of the choking feeling of pain and into forgiveness or healing or beauty or freedom or whatever descriptor feels right for us.

Charley’s highly empathetic approach to their own story is beautiful, authentic, and eye-opening…and I personally love that, although anger is a part of the story, the story does not end with anger but rather with love and joy and acceptance.

Permissions:
The instrumental of the song “Bones” by OKNaledi is used with permission. Check out the full version here.

The poem “Signs of Welcome” by Lucy Berry was recorded by Lucy Berry and provided to Queer & A with permission. Check out a written version here.

1 Comment
Queer & A - 2SLGBTQIA+ and religious homophobia
Queer & A
Religiously-grounded homophobia is on the rise, and 2SLGBTQIA+ people deserve more love and support. In the Queer & A podcast, I interview experts about queerness and religious homophobia.